Les émois d’Aphrodite  (1986) – 35′

Stir of Aphrodite

for piano, clarinet, percussion and tape

Premiered : Paris Péniche-Opéra 1986

P. Dubuisson (piano), François Cremer (clarinet),  P. Cueco (percussion)


This are episodes of life of an invisible woman. Aphrodite, I like her. She is at the same time so far one cannot see her, but also, she crossed times in spite of that one could find her shameless, although she was burned several times during the Inquisition. And then, she dances.

So, modestly, I started to evoke her agitations, even if I forget her in the course of the music… and it is for that I give the titles of the various parts, but is this an indication?

A first dance – a piece of fear – a second dance – a movement of her – a third dance – a good portion of carnal trip – finally, a wild dance of Aphrodite.

Yes, I do not know if that explains anything…